Are you a Tim Tebow or a Matt Barkley?


Okay we get it…. Tim Tebow is something we have never seen before.
He’s a good kid…  a “Please date my daughter” kinda kid.
Everyone’s grandma knows who Tim Tebow is… why?
Because he is pretty darn near perfect… off the field at least.

I like Tim Tebow.
I like his work ethic.
If you saw the ESPN documentary “Everything In Between”… you would like his work ethic too.
People don’t argue about his work ethic… they argue about his throwing motion.
People don’t argue about his leadership… they argue about should he be the #1 quarterback.
People don’t argue about his faith… they know his faith.
Which is why Jake Plummer is telling Tebow to “shut up”.

Here is what Jake Plummer (former quarterback for Denver) had to say this week…

“Tebow, regardless of whether I wish he’d just shut up after a game and go hug his teammates, I think he’s a winner and I respect that about him.  I think that when he accepts the fact that we know that he loves Jesus Christ then I think I’ll like him a little better…”

Plummer goes on to say that Tim Tebow is a guy that knows how to win.
But the media isn’t writing about that part of Plummer’s remarks.
They are writing about him telling Tim Tebow to be quiet about his faith.

My question today is do Christians have something to learn from Jake Plummer’s remarks?
If I know the evangelical community like I think I do… it won’t be long before we are telling Jake Plummer to “shut up”.
I know this because this was my initial response… but the more I think about it… the more I think that I am wrong.

I know what the Bible says about not being ashamed.
Romans 1:16
For I am not ashamed of this Good News about Christ.
What does being ashamed mean?
The original word there refers to neglect.
What does it mean to neglect something?
There are times when I allow Graham and Anna to play in their room alone.
Do I neglect them in times like these?
No… I am doing this to stay sane.
If I skip lunch because I am busy working on a project do I neglect eating?
Not if I eat supper.

Every time we have an interview… are we being ashamed of our faith if we don’t mention Jesus Christ?
Two weeks ago I discovered a video on I AM SECOND with USC quarterback Matt Barkley.
You can watch it here.
After I watch that I thought… “that was refreshing”… but I wondered why.
Then it hit me… I didn’t know he was a Christian.
Is that a bad thing?
I don’t think it is.
I don’t hear Jake Plummer complaining about Matt Barkley’s Jesus.
I do hear him complaining about Tim Tebow’s Jesus.

Now… please… hear me loud and clear… I am NOT saying that Tim is wrong.
All I am saying is that maybe… just maybe… he should hear some of Jake Plummer’s criticism.
Does that mean he stops being the “please date my daughter” kinda guy?  Absolutely not.
He can continue being perfect… in fact… he needs to continue being perfect.

Check out what Psalm 112 has to say…
1 How joyful are those who fear the Lord
      and delight in obeying his commands.
 2 Their children will be successful everywhere;
      an entire generation of godly people will be blessed.
 3 They themselves will be wealthy,
      and their good deeds will last forever.
 4 Light shines in the darkness for the godly.
      They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

If you fear the Lord… obey his commands.
If you fear the Lord… live generously.
If you fear the Lord… be compassionate.
If you fear the Lord… seek to live a righteous life.
You can let your light shine and not annoy people with your faith.

Just last week the guy in the picture above was spotted at a Bronco’s game
wearing Tim Tebow’s #15 Jersey… with Jesus’ name on the back.
I wonder what Tim Tebow thinks of this picture?
I know what Jake Plummer thinks about it.

I base my comments today off of Jake Plummer’s remarks.
Who’s going to reach guys like him?
The Tim Tebows…. or the Matt Barkleys.
Neither is wrong… in fact… they are both right.

Are you more of a Tim Tebow or a Matt Barkley?

Shinning your light cannot be procrastinated… it’s a part of living for today.

Shine.

Are you a Tim Tebow or a Matt Barkley?

2 thoughts on “Are you a Tim Tebow or a Matt Barkley?

Leave a Reply

