Open Sinners…. False Saints


Yesterday… I met a Biker named Bob.
Bob was an angry man.
His anger had to do with where I met him I am sure.
We were at a government facility and he was trying to get his “old lady’s” ex to pay some child support.

We had a conversation.
I love conversation.
You learn so much about people by striking up a conversation.
Everywhere I go… I seek conversation… people think it’s because I like to talk… but it’s more than that.
Conversation is relational.
Conversation is rewarding.

In the midst of our conversation… he asked me the dreaded “man question”.
You know the question…
“So what do you do?”

In the midst of conversation there are some questions that come up that I don’t like.
But it’s in the answers to those questions that we find authenticity.
My answer to that one simple question… usually paralyzes authenticity.
People find out I am a minister… and boom… they either move along quickly in the conversation or they stop talking all together.
Not Bob.

Bob quickly informed me that he was a sinner.
Judging by the 5 “F bombs” I had heard up to that point… I kinda had a clue.
But Bob was quick to inform me of a tattoo he has that says… “I’d rather be an open sinner than a false saint”.
I’ve looked for the origin of this quote… if you find it… please let me know what you find in the comment section.

Bob went on to give ME the gospel message.
He knew the Jesus Story as my friend “John the Atheist” calls it.
This bothered me.
I was headed nowhere in my conversation with him and right there at the cul-de-sac of Nowhere Street… his “old lady” came out… and he was off.

As I walked away… I thought… okay God what was that about?
That guy was impossible to witness to.
I invited him to our church that is full of bikers like him… Bond Slaves.
One of them could reach him a lot more effectively than I could… and that is okay.

But today here is what I wish I could tell Biker Bob…

1 John 1:5-9

 5 This is the message we heard from Jesus and now declare to you: God is light, and there is no darkness in him at all. 6 So we are lying if we say we have fellowship with God but go on living in spiritual darkness; we are not practicing the truth. 7 But if we are living in the light, as God is in the light, then we have fellowship with each other, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, cleanses us from all sin.

 8 If we claim we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and not living in the truth. 9 But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness. 10 If we claim we have not sinned, we are calling God a liar and showing that his word has no place in our hearts.

There is no darkness in Jesus.
There is hope.
There is life.
There is light.
There is relationship.
There is righteousness… but not piousness.

We are all sinners… period.
Open sinners.
Closet sinners.
Sinners.

Sinners that Christ died for.

What conversations are you having?
What conversations are you learning from?

Please share….

Open Sinners…. False Saints

5 thoughts on “Open Sinners…. False Saints

  1. Excellent job as always Son. I so love the way you and your Pop talk to everyone around you. I’ve heard about some the conversations you both had at the MI-IL game. I’ll never forget the story you told about when you were in England and you talked to people on the bus and the missionary told you people don’t do that there. I think they are missing out. I am thankful for your mercy, compassion, love for all people (sinners) and your gift of gab. Proud of you.

  2. Erma B says:

    Well said “Proud” mom of 3 great adults… I too am amazed at the words that come from Adam. He is filled with wisdom way beyond his years.

Leave a Reply

