Sorry Excuses for Human Beings


*Warning… mature content.

The human being inside of me today is sick to my stomach.
The father inside of me me is angry.
The college football fan inside of me is devastated.

Joe Paterno is a man that has built a legacy… did you hear me… a legacy.
He is a legend in every sense of the word… when it comes to a game.
It’s only a game… a game we watch… to be entertained.
But Joe Pa is great. He has won 409 games in 46 years of coaching.
But all that… appears to be gone.

A lifetime of building a legacy… gone.
Why?
What for?
What did Joe Pa do to deserve such a death sentence for a successful 46 year career?
It’s not what he did… but it’s what he didn’t do.

Jerry Sandusky was an assistant under Joe Paterno at Penn State University for years… later he became his defensive coordinator.
Jerry Sandusky is a pervert… a sex offender… a child molester… and a bastard in my book.
9 victims now have come out to say that Sandusky molested them… he gave tours of Penn State’s football facility… including the shower facility.
He founded an organization for underprivileged boys so that he could prey on them… called The Second Mile.
Joe Paterno apparently knew about this… apparently he told school officials… but not the police… for that… his career appears to be over.
Joe Paterno is not the pedophile but he will suffer because of one.

Now Sandusky’s lawyer is saying that the reason these boys are saying this is because they are disadvantaged.
How sick could you be?
The hunger for money Sandusky’s lawyer seems to have makes Kim Kardashian look innocent.

Speaking of Kim K. … yesterday I tweeted a link to a letter written to her… a letter form my friends at People of the Second Chance.
I had a friend of mine tell me the thought process of the letter to Kim K. was crazy.
I love my friend… I mean no disrespect to him posting this… because frankly… I’ve heard a lot of this on sports talk radio this week in regards to Sandusky.
Here’s what my friend said via Facebook …
“Really ? She got married to gain 18 million $ then divorces 72 days later I’m not sorry for her I think she is sorry as a human being”.

But really… aren’t we all?
Aren’t we all sorry excuses for human beings?
Jerry Sandusky… Joe Paterno… Kim Kardashian… Casey Anthony… Adam Herald.
All sorry excuses for human beings.

I mean… in my mind… when I think about Jerry Sandusky and guys like him… I think…
“Take the bastard to the town square and hang him there in humiliation and let everyone throw rocks at him.”
Is that right for me to think that?  Probably not.
Is that what he deserves?  Absolutely.
Is it up to me to see that he get’s what he deserves?  Not at all.

Romans 12:19-21 says,

Beloved, do not avenge yourselves, but rather give place to wrath; for it is written, “Vengeance is Mine, I will repay,”says the Lord.
Therefore

      “ If your enemy is hungry, feed him;
      If he is thirsty, give him a drink;
      For in so doing you will heap coals of fire on his head.”
Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

The Apostle Paul said that even the things that he did right were garbage in Philippians 3:8-9.
Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ. For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith.

Because of one man’s righteousness… Jesus Christ… we all can obtain grace… even Jerry Sandusky.

I realize the freshness of this topic.
I realize the emotion that comes with this content.
It’s difficult.
It’s difficult to say that a man so sick… should be given a second chance.
But it’s not just him… it’s all of us.

Don’t procrastinate grace.

Who in your life do you need to show grace to today… not tomorrow…. today?

Sorry Excuses for Human Beings

One thought on “Sorry Excuses for Human Beings

Leave a Reply

