The Evilution Mindset


I don’t claim to be smart.  I’ve always been average when it comes to academics.
For this reason… I try to shy away from topics like this.
However… something happened last week that I must blog about.  Not because I have an agenda.
But because others have an agenda.

Last week… my 5 year old daughter brought a book home from school…

Now… allow me to explain… at the end of the week my daughter’s class goes to the school library
where they get to pick and choose a book to bring home.
I imagine my little angel saw the picture of this cool dinosaur and had to check out what was inside.
So she checked it out and brought it home.
We usually read the book she brings home from the library on Thursday night before bed.
That night… we got a science lesson instead of a bedtime story.

This post isn’t about Evolution believe it or not.  I’ll spare you the science lesson.
This post is about my response as a parent when my kid brings something home that I don’t agree with… with all do respect.
The agenda that I want to address is not the agenda of evolutionist.
The agenda that I want to address is the agenda of those that have the evilution mindset.
Newsflash… you’re not reaching anyone by telling them their belief in evolution is evil.
In fact… you are probably pushing them further away from your belief of Creation.
Jesus didn’t love with an agenda of transformation.
Jesus loved… THEN transformation took place.

But how do I address this with my daughter?
Do I tell her the people that wrote this book are all wrong and then proceed to tell her why?
No… she’s only 5 for crying out loud.
What I did… that I am sure will make my atheist friends cringe (but I don’t really care)… is I taught her Genesis 1:1.
I explained to her that because I believe Genesis 1:1… I can’t believe this…

The picture above scared my daughter…
in fact… it may have scared her enough that I don’t have to
be concerned about her believing in evolution any time soon.

My procrastination advice today…. don’t procrastinate teaching your kids the Word of God.
Proverbs says to train up a child in the way they should go.
A part of training isn’t forcing it on them… it’s teaching… sharing… loving.
When the book of Prehistory walked into my door… it wasn’t a time to protest… it was a time to teach.

What is your approach to training your children in the way they should go?

Don’t procrastinate training your children.  They’re worth more than that.


The Evilution Mindset

5 thoughts on “The Evilution Mindset

  1. I can honestly say I think it’s dangerous (from the perspective of a christian parent) to teach your kids that they can’t believe Genesis and evolution. The danger is this: they might believe you. The evidence for evolution is so overwhelming that anyone who thinks they can’t believe both will be seriously tempted to leave the faith if they ever look further into it.

    It’s clear from the language the the writer did not intend it to be taken literally [not to mention that there are two conflicting genesis accounts] and the Talmudic tradition makes it clear that many Rabbis did not consider it a historical account. Even Christians, long before Darwin, did not take it literally. In fact, in the 4th century Augustine argued that the literal meaning of Genesis is that it should be read metaphorically. Furthermore, he argued that when Christians try to force a historical reading they embarrass themselves, the bible and the Gospel.

    Flash forward 16 centuries. It’s quite possible to be an orthodox christian who understand evolution and believes Genesis is true. Of course evolutionary theory doesn’t play nicely with fundamentalist Christianity, but let’s not confuse true with historical. Myths can tell great truths and I’d hate to see the truth of Genesis (yes, I think it has some!) lost when you try to make it something is was never intended to be. So by all means teach your kids that Genesis is true, but don’t tell them it really happened – that’s just embarrassing (and as I’ve argued here, dangerous).

    “Often a non-Christian knows something about the earth, the heavens, and the other parts of the world, about the motions and orbits of the stars and even their size and relative positions, about the predictable eclipses of the sun and moon, the cycles of the years and seasons, about the kinds of animals, shrubs, stones, and so forth, and this knowledge he holds with certainty from reason and experience. Now it is a disgraceful and dangerous thing for an infidel to hear a Christian, presumably giving the meaning of Holy Scripture, talking nonsense on these topics, and we should take all means to prevent such an embarrassing situation, in which people show up vast ignorance in a Christian and laugh it to scorn… If they find a Christian mistaken in a field which they themselves know well and hear him maintaining his foolish opinions about our books, how are they going to believe our books in matters concerning the resurrection of the dead, the hope of eternal life, and the kingdom of heaven, when they think their pages are full of falsehoods on facts which they themselves have learnt from experience and the light of reason? Reckless and incompetent expounders of Holy Scripture bring untold trouble and sorrow on their wiser brethren, … to defend their utterly foolish and obviously untrue statements, they will try to call on Holy Scripture, .. although they understand neither what they say nor the things about which they make assertion. ”

    St. Augustine, “De Genesi ad litteram libri duodecim” (The Literal Meaning of Genesis)

    Sorry for the long comment. I’m sure you knew I wouldn’t be able to resist. Even if you reject everything I said, I think this Augustine quote does a great job explaining why being an evilutionist (as you put it) isn’t effective.

    1. John… I knew you wouldn’t be able to resist. Thank you for proving me right when I made mention that you would cringe in this post.
      With every once of love and every pound of respect… you missed it.
      My job is to love my daughter… teach my daughter…. train her up the way she should go. That is why I teach her my beliefs. I don’t believe its dangerous just like you don’t believe teaching your kids that there is no God is dangerous… however I do.
      The point of this post was not to debate evolution… the point of this post was to encourage parents to resist protesting schools that teach evolution and be responsible at home in teaching their kids biblical truth. It’s not the public school’s job to my kids biblical truth… its mine at home. I would think that you would respect that and know you enough to know that you do.
      Thanks for your comment.

  2. Great post Adam.

    I would tend to think that at some point I should point out to my kids that there are some theories/beliefs that are in opposition to the Bible. That we should stand against those IDEAS by speaking the truth IN LOVE.
    I agree that at your daughter’s age it probably isn’t wise. Nevertheless, there are theories and belief systems that we should fight in the battlefield of ideas by pointing out their error.

  3. Adam, I’m not sure I missed the point. As I understand it, your goal is to raise your kids to be passionate Christians. I’m not saying it’s dangerous to teach your child your beliefs. I was saying if your goal is to raise your daughter to be a christian, it’s probably dangerous to make her think she has to choose between science and faith. At the end of the day it’s obvious that science works, so if you’re presenting it as an either or situation it may not work out the way you plan. Ironically, I’m the one arguing that you need not choose. Evolution isn’t opposed the bible. It’s opposed to a fundamentalist reading of Genesis. It’s certainly possible to believe the bible is the word of God and not believe that genesis is a historical account. In fact, many Christians think there is compelling biblical reasons to reject a historical reading of Genesis.

    P.S. I won’t be teaching my kids that “there is no god” as I don’t believe that statement.

    1. Genesis isn’t the only book that calls God creator. Its seen in numerous other books. Even throughout the gospels. Faith doesn’t always “make sense”, John. That’s why its called faith. However… I don’t think it’s just completely “blind” either. I will teach my daughter that living for Jesus results in life. It’s not an easy journey. Do I want her to follow Christ passionately? Absolutely. Will I force her to do that? I hope not. Like I have said on here before… that’s not love.

      John… I wish you all the best in having kids some day. I wish you the best in figuring out what you will teach them. It’s tough when you don’t know yourself or in your case… when you have 2 different views b/w parents. Kids give us perspective. Maybe thats another thing we can take from this post? I know what I am trying to teach mine.

      Thanks for posting John. Please continue.

Leave a Reply

