Earn Your Brand



Branding… it’s simply creating a label… a product… a persona.  However you spin it… it’s a way of creating.  Creating is a good thing.  I believe that all of us should be creative… when we do… we reflect our Creative God.

The idea of personal branding is simply creating who you want to be… or more like… who you want other people to perceive you to be.  There are many ways that you can do this.  You can do this by the clothes you wear… you can do this by the title you give yourself… you can do this by the attitude that you reflect.  However… there is only one way that is authentic… doing.

I can call myself Adam Herald M.D….. but that wouldn’t be authentic because I am not a doctor… trust me.  The only way that I can be a doctor is by doing medicine.  The whole idea of titles has always bothered me.  I don’t like titles.  I just like to be called Adam.  It was good enough for my parents and it’s good enough for me… I don’t need to be called Mister, Brother, Reverend, or Doctor… please… just call me Adam.

I’m also very careful at what I call other people.  I usually stay away from “Brother”.  Although when I was younger… my pastor was “Brother Jim”.  He was the sheezo bo deezy.  I loved that man… every year on my birthday I would receive a wordless book and a five dollar bill from “Brother Jim” and each card was signed…. “Brother Jim – Philippians 4:13”.

Maybe it’s because I don’t think anyone else could ever live up to “Brother Jim’s” standards… maybe it’s because I don’t want to sound like I belong to a cult… either way… I have done away with calling people “brother”. However… there is one title that I still use… “Pastor”.  But here’s the thing… for me to call you “Pastor”… you have had to have been my pastor OR be my pastor.  It goes back to that whole “doing” thing. If I call you “Pastor so and so” it’s because you are or have been MY pastor. It’s something that I don’t take lightly.  Here’s why:

Matthew 24:8-12
8 “Don’t let anyone call you ‘Rabbi,’ for you have only one teacher, and all of you are equal as brothers and sisters.9 And don’t address anyone here on earth as ‘Father,’ for only God in heaven is your spiritual Father. 10 And don’t let anyone call you ‘Teacher,’ for you have only one teacher, the Messiah. 11 The greatest among you must be a servant. 12 But those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.

It’s a privilege to be called “Pastor” a privilege that I don’t really feel like I have earned… in some’s eyes… maybe I have… but please… just call me “Adam”… even if you feel like I have earned that right.  That’s just who I am.

If you are a pastor and others call you “Pastor”… I mean no disrespect.  All I ask is that you be a servant and earn that title… never demand it… its a privilege… not a right.

Who have you branded yourself to be?

Do you call someone “Pastor”?  If so… why?

Earn Your Brand

2 thoughts on “Earn Your Brand

Leave a Reply

