My Past 5 Years


Over the past 5 years words cannot express the lessons that I have learned.

My baby girl changed my perspective.

She changed my perspective of beauty.
She changed my perspective of priority.
She changed my perspective of parenthood.
She changed my perspective on what’s appropriate and inappropriate.
She changed my perspective on love.


She’s the apple of my eye.
One of the objects of my affection next to Jesus… Mommy… and Graham.
She teaches me about God and His love for me.
She teaches me about who I am and what I’m capable of… my adequacies and inadequacies.

Yesterday… she gave me a lesson on time.
It’s short.
She grows up fast.
Enjoy today.
Because it’s gone tomorrow.
I tell her a wise man… taught me to teach my daughter to never say “I love you” to some punk boy until she knows that he loves her as much as her daddy loves her.
When I tell her that… her response is… “Daddy… how will I know?”

It’s my job to show her… how to know.
It’s my job to love her… so she knows.
It’s my job to teach her… how to know.
I can’t procrastinate loving my kids… I have one shot with each of them.  One shot.  That one shot can’t pass me by because I procrastinated.

My kids teach me to live for today.

What gives you perspective in living for today?  Please share.

My Past 5 Years

2 thoughts on “My Past 5 Years

Leave a Reply

