The Meaning of Relationship


James 2:18-20

 18 Now someone may argue, “Some people have faith; others have good deeds.” But I say, “How can you show me your faith if you don’t have good deeds? I will show you my faith by my good deeds.”

 19 You say you have faith, for you believe that there is one God. Good for you! Even the demons believe this, and they tremble in terror. 20 How foolish! Can’t you see that faith without good deeds is useless?

On my way to work this morning I was thinking about a verse… the verse was this… James 2 : 19 “You say you have faith, for you believe that there is one God. Good for you! Even the demons believe this, and they tremble in terror.”

I have posted the context of this verse above.

This verse got me thinking about my relationship with my wife.  I love her.  She’s the apple of my eye.  She means the world to me.  She completes who I am.  What else can I say about her?  I love her to pieces… you get the point.

I have a relationship with my wife.  She knows I have a relationship with her… I know I have a relationship with her.  I’m not shocked every morning when I wake up and she is lying next to me in bed.  We hold hands… we communicate… we laugh together… we cry together.

As I was driving this morning a song came on by a secular group… the lyrics were…

Father, Father, Father help us, Send some guidance from above.

I thought about some of their other song lyrics…

Too many t-t-too many 
Haters haters haters haters
Too many haters haters
Kill all the haters
I had to do it to rock my sh**
Had to get down to rock my sh**
Ya I know the rules
And how the game exists
Don’t hate coz I had a business

Something doesn’t add up.  One minute… it’s a cry out to God for help… the next it’s kill all the haters. Then James 2:19 came to mind.

Please don’t get off track… I try my best not to be judgmental… but I know this post sounds like I am.  But that brings me to another point… everyone around me knows that I have a relationship with my wife.  No one asks me if I am married any more… they know that I am by the love that I have for my wife.  If you have a relationship with God… people are going to know that you have a relationship with God.

This verse… James 2:19… inspires me.  It inspires me to live for today.  To show others that a relationship with God is more than just believing in Him… it’s LIVING for Him.

How do you show others the relationship that you have with God?  It’s more than just telling… it’s more than just praising… it’s living.

The Meaning of Relationship

Leave a Reply

