Today… God gave me Goosebumps


Have you ever worked at something and worked and something and worked at something some more never to really see the results of your labor?  I know… this is a blog for procrastinators… we don’t like to work… I would beg to differ.  It’s not that we don’t like to work… it’s just that we like to put it off.

I have always been taught… carpenters… see the result of their work at the end of the day.

Very rarely to ministers see the results of their labor right way.  Ministers aren’t blessed with instant gratification as a result of their labor.

I’ll never forget a time in my life that I was looking for a youth pastor position… I was working in Boston as a valet to pass the time… one day an Orthodox Jewish man asked me what a youth pastor does exactly… my answer was that it’s hard to put into words.  We plan activities… teach The Bible… the man was an Orthodox Jew… he could probably quote the Torah and here I was telling him I taught the Bible.  At the end of my answer he kinda shrugged his shoulders and said… “okay… interesting.”  That was it.  When he walked away… I remember thinking… “Man… I wish I could’ve given him more.”  I think my dissatisfaction with my answer came from an inability to measure accomplishment.

I will let you in on a little secret about a ministers sense of accomplishment… when God gives us a sense of accomplishment… it blows all other accomplishments out of the water.  I know that I am bias.  Being able to say that I built a house would be pretty cool… but being able to say I saw 2 people give their lives to Jesus that they will live for eternity… is even better.

Today… I received a sense of accomplishment that gave me goosebumps.  No one came to know Christ… but it was just about as awesome. One thing that makes it so awesome is that I can show you…

This was a tweet last night from one of the students at my church.  It was a little over 24 hours since I said these words in a message at youth group.  He was listening.  He was inspired.

Anytime that I can encourage a student to think about life with Jesus… I’ve accomplished something. When God shows me the fruits of my labor… I get goosebumps and realize why I do what I do.

Why do you do what you do?

When was the last time God showed you this?

 

Today… God gave me Goosebumps

One thought on “Today… God gave me Goosebumps

Leave a Reply

