A Lesson from: Zumba… Big Boy Pants… and Waffles


Life comes at you fast… sometimes it’s difficult to keep up… this is the story of my life since I began my new gig.  It’s a good thing. The only issue that come from it is the time factor.  I have little time.  Not enough time to blog.  Blogging for me is a hobby.  A hobby that I love but a hobby that I need time to do. Lately… I have lost time for blogging.

One thing that I cannot lose time for is my kids.  They are far too precious to lose.  I’m thankful to have a job that realizes that.  I mean… just look at them…


There are times when we get to spend time together because Mama has to be somewhere. Those times are about to increase because Mama starts school in less than a month.  Last night we had one of those moments… Dad was left home with the kiddos because Mama decided to give Zumba a try.  The only issue… we were on the run as usual when Mama had to leave.  No time for instruction… Daddy had to put on his big boy pants and figure things out on his own.  The result….


This was dinner.  Waffles. Chocolate Chip Waffles. Whipped Cream. Strawberries. A sugar infested dinner. But it worked.  The natives were happy.  They finished everything on their plate and we even left some for Mama… so much for the hour of shaking her hips at Zumba.

After Tanya got home and I was spending time with her while she ate her waffle… I didn’t tell her this… but something hit me… character.  Who are you when no one is watching?  How do you act when Mama ain’t home?  In my case… what do you cook when Mama’s not home?

Character is important.

Romans 5:3-5
3 We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. 4 And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. 5 And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love. 

The trial last night… coming up with a quick and easy dinner with next to nothing in the house.  For mommy… its no problem… for daddy on the other hand… well… it’s a challenge.  But check out what the passage above says…

When our character is strengthened… we know how much God loves us!

So when those trials hit… the hard ones that test your character… remember that God loves you and He has given you this opportunity to strengthen your character… you’ll be stronger because of it.

Character cannot be procrastinated.  When you live for today… you exercise good character.

Life’s better that way.

A Lesson from: Zumba… Big Boy Pants… and Waffles

Leave a Reply

