Legacy


Lately I have been thinking a lot about legacy.  The legacy that has specifically been left to me … the legacy that I am leaving behind… and the legacy that others have left that have gone on before me to others. Dictionay.com defines legacy as “anything handed down from the past, as from an ancestor or predecessor.” What has been handed down to me… what am I handing down to not just my kids but others.

I imagine the guy pictured above is someone’s ancestor.  Judging by the mustache probably Tom Selleck’s. Whoever’s ancestor he is… I’m sure he left his cool bike to someone.  The question is not really if he left it or not… the question is what did the person he left it to do with it?

We are all destined to leave a legacy.  Some legacies will be worth living on generation to generation.  Some legacies need to die.  The question is what type of legacy am I… are you… leaving behind.

In Deuteronomy 31:19-21… Moses is told this… “19 “So write down the words of this song, and teach it to the people of Israel. Help them learn it, so it may serve as a witness for me against them. 20 For I will bring them into the land I swore to give their ancestors—a land flowing with milk and honey. There they will become prosperous, eat all the food they want, and become fat. But they will begin to worship other gods; they will despise me and break my covenant. 21 And when great disasters come down on them, this song will stand as evidence against them, for it will never be forgotten by their descendants. I know the intentions of these people, even now before they have entered the land I swore to give them.”

Moses was commanded to leave a legacy… he did… the people ignored it… but it was always a constant reminder of the God that they had forgotten.  Moses was told the people would ignore his legacy but he left it anyway… because he was commanded to… and because he had made a promise to the God of his ancestors:

Deuteronomy 29:13
By entering into the covenant today, he will establish you as his people and confirm that he is your God, just as he promised you and as he swore to your ancestors Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.

So… what type of legacy are you leaving behind… one that is worth passing on… one that needs to die?

For those that have had loved ones pass on… is the legacy your loved ones left living on through you or is it dying in your grief?

Legacy… It cannot be procrastinated.

When you live for today… you give purpose to live tomorrow.


Legacy

Leave a Reply

