Frightened By Blessings


Deuteronomy 8:18

18 Remember the Lord your God. He is the one who gives you power to be successful, in order to fulfill the covenant he confirmed to your ancestors with an oath.

First I proposed and she said yes…. so we got married.


Then we had Anna… Daddy’s princess who loves it when I blog about her.


Then we had her brother… a prince and a punk all lumped into one. That we wouldn’t change for the world.


This is my success.  I hope it doesn’t stop here… but when I look at this photo… I see everything God has given me. Then… I get frightened.  With great blessing comes great responsibility. I think we should all be frightened by the blessings God has given us.

The very next verse in Deuteronomy 8:19 says:
19 “But I assure you of this: If you ever forget the Lord your God and follow other gods, worshiping and bowing down to them, you will certainly be destroyed. 

 My context may be a little off because in Deuteronomy the author (most likely Moses) is reminding the Children of Israel about the covent that God had made with their ancestors and telling them they have been given the power to succeed from God. Well… I believe I have been given the power to succeed as a husband and father from God. But just as verse 19 says… I cannot forget the Lord my God… every blessing I have comes from Him.

I would challenge you to check out Deuteronomy chapters 7-9.  They tore my me up yesterday.

Fright by blessing cannot be put off… this fright motivates me… it motivates me to live for today.

Let’s remember the blessings God has given us. Please share…

*A special thanks to Amy Lipe Photography for rockin the lens that took these pictures. She’s so talented and a blessing to us… she can be a blessing to you too… hit her up for a photo shoot that will rock your socks off.

Frightened By Blessings

One thought on “Frightened By Blessings

Leave a Reply

