Keep It Fresh


                                        

Today for my reading I was in the Book of Matthew and in a familiar passage in chapter 28… I wanted to keep it fresh… so at my new favorite bible website: www.youversion.com I clicked on the audio option.  It was really cool.  You could select a language and then a translation in that language.  I clicked on the English Standard translation.

I don’t know if you have ever listened to the Bible on CD before but it’s pretty cool. Birds chirping… sound effects… different voices for different people.  It’s obvious that a lot of work goes into creating Bible in audio.

As I read Matthew 28… thanks to all that hard work… I gained a new perspective on these verses today:

Matthew 28:11-15
11 While they were going, behold, some of the guard went into the city and told the chief priests all that had taken place.12 And when they had assembled with the elders and taken counsel, they gave a sufficient sum of money to the soldiers13 and said, “Tell people, ‘His disciples came by night and stole him away while we were asleep.’14 And if this comes to the governor’s ears, we will satisfy him and keep you out of trouble.”15 So they took the money and did as they were directed. And this story has been spread among the Jews to this day. – ESV

What stood out to me was the extent that the Roman officials went to in order to squash the message of Jesus.  They did not want The Good News to be broadcasted… they wanted to stop it… but they couldn’t.

I’m not sure that this would have stood out to me today had I not listened a portion of my Scripture reading today… I needed a fresh look.

It is okay to need a fresh perspective… as long as you keep it fresh.

What do you do to keep the Bible fresh in you everyday life?

Keep It Fresh

Leave a Reply

