Stories of Restoration


1930 Ford sedan Restored from a junkyard

Recently I saw this show on the History Channel called American Restoration… great show… I wish they had a website with better side by side pictures on it.  The show is done at a restoration shop called Rick’s Restorations located in Las Vegas… you may recognize Rick from the show Pawn Stars.  This show got me thinking about restoration and about how beautiful a restoration story is.

Think about what restoration is; a return of something to a former, original, normal, or unimpaired condition.  One thing that I remember Rick saying on this show was how each item has a story to tell about history.  How cool is that?  Everything has a story behind it… a vehicle like the 1930 Ford (Above)… a Red Lion gas tank (like the one Rick restored on the episode of American Restoration that I watched)… or the Pepsi cooler he restored… even human beings have a story… especially human beings have a story… and even human beings have stories that we wish we could re-write or in other words restore.

This is not a foreign concept.  Just check out what the Bible has to say about the Children of Israel found in the book of Jeremiah chapter 32 verses 36-44:

36 “Now I want to say something more about this city. You have been saying, ‘It will fall to the king of Babylon through war, famine, and disease.’ But this is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: 37 I will certainly bring my people back again from all the countries where I will scatter them in my fury. I will bring them back to this very city and let them live in peace and safety.38 They will be my people, and I will be their God. 39 And I will give them one heart and one purpose: to worship me forever, for their own good and for the good of all their descendants.40 And I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop doing good for them. I will put a desire in their hearts to worship me, and they will never leave me. 41 I will find joy doing good for them and will faithfully and wholeheartedly replant them in this land.

42 “This is what the Lord says: Just as I have brought all these calamities on them, so I will do all the good I have promised them. 43 Fields will again be bought and sold in this land about which you now say, ‘It has been ravaged by the Babylonians, a desolate land where people and animals have all disappeared.’44 Yes, fields will once again be bought and sold—deeds signed and sealed and witnessed—in the land of Benjamin and here in Jerusalem, in the towns of Judah and in the hill country, in the foothills of Judaht and in the Negev, too. For someday I will restore prosperity to them. I, the Lord, have spoken!”

 Words of restoration are bolded above; back again… replant… again… again… and restore.  These are words that God promised the Children of Israel… they are words that God promises you.
You have a story… it’s a story that you may want to re-write… it’s a story that speaks about you… it’s the story of who you are… a sinner.  But God wants to be apart of that story… a story of restoration… a story of redemption… a story of love… and a story of grace.  God wants to restore you just like the car in the picture above that was found in a junkyard… just like the Children of Israel that wandered in the dessert.  He wants to bring you back to a place of forgiveness… forgiveness that cleanses… forgiveness that restores.
Just like any restoration process… it takes work… but the work of your restoration… God has already done… He did it on a cross… with 3 nails… as He died to bring you home from the junkyard into a place of total restoration.
Romans 10:9-13
9 If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved. 11 As the Scriptures tell us, “Anyone who trusts in him will never be disgraced.”t 12 Jew and Gentilet are the same in this respect. They have the same Lord, who gives generously to all who call on him. 13 For “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”
Restoration is for today… if you need to be restored… please don’t procrastinate it.
Stories of restoration are beautiful… if you have a story of restoration… please share it with us… we’d love to read about it.

 

Stories of Restoration

Leave a Reply

