Letting Go


This morning I read these verses… it really made me think… and so… I share…

Jeremiah 11:14-17

14 Pray no more for these people, Jeremiah. Do not weep or pray for them, for I will not listen to them when they cry out to me in distress.
15 “What right do my beloved people have to come to my Temple,
when they have done so many immoral things?
Can their vows and sacrifices prevent their destruction?
They actually rejoice in doing evil!
16 I, the Lord, once called them a thriving olive tree,
beautiful to see and full of good fruit.
But now I have sent the fury of their enemies
to burn them with fire,
leaving them charred and broken.
17 “I, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, who planted this olive tree, have ordered it destroyed. For the people of Israel and Judah have done evil, arousing my anger by burning incense to Baal.”

Here are some of my thoughts…

People do not like that God can get so angry.  But as I read this… His anger is justified.  The reason is… His people… the Children of Israel… turned their back on Him.  They chose Baal over God.  But people do not like judgement… even when it’s justified.

However… that’s not what stood out to me the most… verse 14 did. God is telling Jeremiah to stop praying for the Israelites because He’s done listening.  In a sense… He’s telling Jeremiah to let go.

We know now that God had a plan to save all mankind… His plan was His Son… but that didn’t make it easy for Jeremiah.  Letting go is a difficult thing to do… especially when God says ” let go, My answer is no”.  In essence that is exactly what He is saying to Jeremiah.

God’s judgment is always just… even when I don’t like it.  But even when I don’t like it… I have to let God be God… and trust Him.

Don’t Procrastinate allowing God to be God in your life.  Let Go and Let God.

What area of your life is God asking you to let go of right now… even if you don’t like it?

Letting Go

One thought on “Letting Go

  1. Susan says:

    YIKES! Strong stuff…but as usual you have hit the nail on the head. I think often we (I) tend to gloss over that side of God. He is a kind and loving God, but He means what He says. Like parents…we only go so far before we “mean business” And always we get angry only when harm might come to our children. I always tend to relate God to us, as parents to children (just ask your mom…HA!) and then I more fully understand the hows and whys of God’s love for me.
    Great post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

