2 Truths About God


God is great.  God is good… let us thank Him for the food.  We’ve all heard that prayer before.  In fact… we’ve all said that prayer before.  It’s a prayer that is quick to say at dinner time and when you are dying of starvation.  The fact of the matter is I’m not really sure that we could ever say a more simplistic yet truthful prayer.

I have mentioned the book on here before… in fact I have said that I would write a book review on it.  The problem is… I’m a procrastinator.  I have other things I’d rather write about than sit down and write about one book.  However… if there were a book that I was going to write about… it would be this one.  The book is called Sun Stand Still… the author is Steven Furtick… the pastor of Elevation Church, Charlotte, N.C.  I recommend the entire book.  But this post is dedicated to chapter 9… The Simplest Systematic Theology Ever.

Furtick says… there are two things you need to know about God:
1. God is Great.
2. God is Good.
He says, “When we see God for who he is, our small dreams are eclipsed by his unlimited strength as it becomes increasingly clear that there is nothing our Father in heaven cannot do.”
God is great.  He has the ability to accomplish anything that we ask of Him.
Daniel 3:17 says “The God we serve is able to save us.”

Psalm 62:11-12 says:
“One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard:
that you, O God, are strong, and that you, O Lord, are loving.”
God is strong = God is Great
God is loving = God is Good.

Steven Furtick concludes the chapter with this, “He is infinitely powerful, but his intentions toward you are infinitely good.  He is capable, but he is also compassionate.  He not only has created a good plan for you, but he is able to bring it to completion in your life.”

If God were able to be put in a nutshell it would be the nutshell of God is great and God is good.

Small. Dreams. Reflect. Small. God. Big. Dreams. Reflect. Big. God.

“Dream God-worthy dreams.” – Steven Furtick

How has God shown His greatness to you lately?

How has God shown His goodness to you lately?

-Adam

2 Truths About God

One thought on “2 Truths About God

  1. Susan says:

    I love this one Adam. When I read the first few lines I thought of my 4 year old granddaughter who often uses that prayer at mealtime. And I thought how simple it really is….for her to remember and to recite. But I know that she, as I have, will one day come to truly believe those words and know how truly profound they are. Great blog. I often think we as Christians make it all so difficult when all the time it is really just as simple as those 2 statements. Thanks!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

