True Beauty


This morning I went through my normal routine of checking my emails.  One of my email addresses that I cannot seem to link with my other is my yahoo email account.  Many times I really wish that I could link it to my gmail account but that cost money of which I do not want to spend.  Anyone that pays money for an email account these days just is not being a good steward… sorry… just being honest.

I once heard friend Aaron Cavin at Life Community Church in Quincy, MA speak a message where he said, “The church needs to be more like Google than Yahoo.”  The reason is google is simple… yahoo is not.  When I go check my email at yahoo I get distracted by the ticker in the middle of the page… you know… the one with 4 pictures listing 17-20 of 40 at the center of the page.  Well… today as I clicked threw the ticker… something stood out.

Two articles that said… “Simpson’s big style mishap” and “Aguilera’s style mishap”.  Really yahoo?  Do you really think 2 of today’s top 40 news stories are what Jessica Simpson and Christina Aguilera is wearing? Maybe today was one of those days you should have scaled back to just 28 top stories instead of 40?  But seriously… this brings me to the importance our culture has put on beauty and fashion.  I’m sure you’ve seen it by now… in case you haven’t check out this video released by Dove about 5 years ago…

Pretty powerful stuff there.  That is a video that every young lady needs to see.  Please… show it to them.
I’m resisting the urge that I have to post one of the many parody’s to this video on youtube.  But sometime when you have some time… go to youtube and watch the parody of Dove Evolution with the fat ugly guy.  It’s rather comical however… inappropriate for today’s post.

You see here’s what the Scripture says about true beauty…
1 Peter 3:3-4
Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes. You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God.

Hey yahoo… did you hear that?  True beauty isn’t about style… it comes from a gentle and quite spirit which comes from within.

Jessica and Christina… please… don’t worry about what yahoo.com has to say about your style… worry about what’s inside of you. Our young ladies are watching you.

Where do you get most of your fashion advice?

True Beauty

One thought on “True Beauty

Leave a Reply

