This Song is Horrible And….


It just got worse.

That’s right… Lady Gaga finally released the music video for her recent Billboard Top 20 hit… Judas.

This is the garbage that our young people are being fed.  I think we can learn a lot about our culture from Lady Gaga.  She illustrates to us how things do not even have to make sense and yet they can be a hit.  She states that “Judas” is not a religious statement but rather a social and cultural statement.  You can find that quote in this article.  However… lyrics like this:

I wanna love you,
But something’s pulling me away from you
Jesus is my virtue, Judas is the demon I cling to (I cling to)
I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

I am not really sure how a song that mentions the name of Jesus could not be seen as “religious”.  After all… Jesus is a “religious figure”.  It doesn’t matter how much I don’t see him as such… I see Him as a part of my life… my savior… my Lord… Jesus is more than a religious figure to me.  However… our culture does see him as a “religious figure”.  So I’m sorry Lady Gaga… if this is meant to be a “cultural statement” I think our culture would say that it is also a religious one.

Here is a great article about Judas written by David R. Smith @ The Source for Youth Ministry.  In it he states:
“Sadly, when given the opportunity to identify herself with Jesus (her virtue), she chooses Judas (her demon), instead. When she has the prerogative to choose, she chooses the one who greedily betrayed Jesus (Matthew 26). Buried inside the many questions her song raises is this one blaring reality: Lady Gaga connects with Judas more than Jesus. “

I have a feeling that Lady Gaga isn’t the only person out there that feels like they identify with Judas more so than they do Jesus.  I mean… there’s a reason that “Judas” is number 20 on Billboard’s Top 100 today. I can’t help but to ask myself the question why?  Why might people feel like they identify with Judas more than Judas today?  My answer… the church.  If the church is the Body of Christ… the church is the physical representation of Jesus here on earth… that is what my body does… it represents who I am.  That’s what the church does… it represents Him to a lost world.  For some reason the church today has made it easier to identify with Judas more than Jesus.  Maybe it’s time to return to the two greatest commandments… Love. God. Love. People.  (Mark 12:30-31)

Why do you think people today might connect with Judas more so than Jesus?

This Song is Horrible And….

Leave a Reply

