Where Does She Learn This Stuff?


Here name is Anna G. Herald.  The “G” stands for Grace… not Gangster.
<—– This picture may make you think otherwise.  But I promise… she’s no gangster.

Last night Anna said something that made me think, “Where does she learn this stuff?”  I don’t remember the context exactly… but I remember what she said… “Oh, she cheated on her boyfriend”.  WHAT!?!?!?!  My wife… I love her… she said in a very calm motherly voice… “No one cheated on anyone.” While I’m practically yelling… “Where did you learn about cheating on boyfriends?!?”
What would I do without my counterpart… especially in situations like these?

I love having hip children… I really do.  I think that it comes with the territory of “Student Pastor”… if you have kids… they must be hip.  But then… I read articles like this about new music by Lady Gaga and how even she compares her music to vomit.  I think… if Lady Gaga is “hip”… my kids will be unhip.  I don’t want my kids listening to this junk.  I don’t want my kids to lose their innocence.

Then… I’m reminded… in the words of a king… King Solomon… Guard your heart above all else… for it determines the course of your lifeProverbs 4:23.  And even later in the same book written by the same king…  Train up a child in the way he should goeven when he is old he will not depart from it... Proverbs 22:6.  

I realize I need to train up my child to guard her own heart.   This begins even at the age of 5.  Can she be hip and still guard her heart?  You better believe it. After all… she’s my kid… okay… more like her mom’s kid.

Love your kids enough to teach them to guard their hearts.  Begin teaching them at a young age what that looks like.  That is something that you do not want to procrastinate.

What is your favorite Proverb?

I have shared two of mine… now it’s your turn.

Where Does She Learn This Stuff?

Leave a Reply

