Who killed Jesus?


 Today is Good Friday.  The Friday before we celebrate Easter.  Easter is what our world has come to call it anyway… I prefer Resurrection Sunday.  When I think of Easter… I think of… bunnies… eggs… pastels… baskets… and candy.  When I think of Resurrection Sunday… I think of… victory over sin and death.

But today is Good Friday.  The day that God Himself turned His back on His Son… for you…for me.  I’m sure that moment was full of agony for both God the Father and God the Son.  But they both knew what would come… the resurrection.

My friend Matt that I wrote about in Friends Are Friends Forever  just posted this Good Friday post on his church’s blog.  The perspective on Good Friday found there is eye opening.  I think I have a whole new appreciation for the Apostle Paul’s take on the the Resurrection story.  You can read it here in 1 Corinthians 15.

Paul was a lot like us in that He did not witness the resurrection like the 11 disciples did.  As he mentions in this chapter… he did see Jesus… on the Road to Damascus.  I think because of  that Paul is a lot like us… I appreciate his perspective.

We have to remember that today is the day that Jesus died… not the day he arose from the dead… that’s Sunday. We look forward to Sunday.  But Easter Sunday doesn’t seem to mean as much to people anymore.  I think it’s because people today have completely jacked up the crucifixion story. We have desensitized the whole thing.  We’ve taken a weapon that was used to kill and hung it around our necks.  We’ve turned the cross into jewelry.  The very cross that was used to kill our Jesus. I don’t see people rockin electric chairs around their necks… what about  lethal injection needles… nope.  These things are the very equivalent of the cross back in Jesus’ day.  We’ve become so desensitized that the story of Jesus’ death hardly breaks our hearts any longer.   He did it for us you know?  For our sins… so that we can have victory over them… we killed Jesus.  That should brake our hearts.

I would like to highlight 1 Corinthians 15:57 because this is our hope.
But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ.

Today is a day of defeat because today is the day God turned his back on His Son.  But like John Piper said in a tweet earlier today:
Betrayed by Judas, denied by Peter, abandoned by the eleven, forsaken by God. Darkness, you get one hour. Then you die”

Praise God… today’s defeat… resulted in victory.

Today’s Live for Today Challenge is simple yet difficult… Go. Tell. The Good News.

Who killed Jesus?

Leave a Reply

