HE > i


I have this artistic side of me.  It’s not a very big side and it doesn’t show itself very often. But when it does… I really enjoy it.  I hope others enjoy it.  In fact… that side of me is what said… “I could write a blog.”  So here I am.
This side of me expanded when I got married because my wife has shown me how much fun “art” can be.  We bought a new camera and I’ve discovered… I like to take pictures.  We put videos together… I discovered that I enjoy coming up with ideas for relevant videos.  We work on her crazy percolating projects together… I discovered projects can be fun.  Most of my enjoyment comes from the company… but to be honest… I enjoy the things we do.

A part of my artistic side has this appreciation for logos and the creative ideas behind them.  I believe the marketing world calls this “branding”.  This past  summer our student ministry went to Lake of the Ozarks and worked with a couple of college students. One of them had written this logo on his arm with a Sharpie that looked like the logo above.  I asked him what that was about.  He told me this story of how a Christian company in Hawaii was born.  Part of my artistic side was a tad bit jealous… you know the side… the one that says… why didn’t I think of that?

This past weekend our student ministry went on a retreat.  We had a blast.  We went “Deeper” together and really discovered God’s desire for our lives is faith and obedience.  After getting home and having some time to reflect on my weekend… even this morning… God gave me the thought of this logo…
HE >i.

The company bases it’s logo on this verse in John 3:30 –  He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.
Another verse that comes to my mind is Matthew 16:24 – Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone wants to come with Me, he must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow Me.

It’s NOT about us.  It’s about HIM.  When we realize this… we realize we are nothing.  When we realize that we are nothing… we realize that the junk that we go through in life benefits us… but ultimately it’s not for us… it’s for HIM.  For Him to receive glory. We realize that the gifts we have aren’t for us… they’re for Him.  We realize that the possessions that we have aren’t for us… they’re for Him.  We realize that we are nothing… and He is everything.  When this takes place in our hearts… He inspires us to live for today.

HE > i  go check them out at hegreaterthani.com.  Buy a t-shirt. Wear it proudly knowing that it’s not about you… it’s about Him.

Do you have an artistic side?

How does it manifest itself?

How is God showing Himself to be greater than you are in your life?

HE > i

Leave a Reply

