The Art of Networking


In the day and age of social networking… I think networking can tend to get a bad name.  Often times social networking sites distract us.  Thank goodness for smart phones that allow us to have access to our social network around the clock.  Distraction? But it only takes 20 seconds to reach in your pocket and read who that latest retweet was from.  Then you can brag to all your buddies that you just scored a retweet from your latest man crush.

I do not want this post to confuse you so let me just say it… social networking and networking are two different things.  If networking is an art… social networking is it’s paint brush.  It’s just a tool used to stay connected.  Staying connected to friends, colleagues, class mates, and family is vital for relationships.  One thing that social networking has accomplished is it has provided an avenue to stay connected with more people than in the day and age of “Pen Pals”.

I believe the Apostle Paul was a networker. Acts 15:22 says “22 Then the apostles and the elders, with the whole church, decided to select men from among them and to send them to Antioch with Paul and Barnabas: Judas, called Barsabbas, and Silas, both leading men among the brothers.
This verse doesn’t even mention young Timothy or John Mark.  Paul knew the value in a team and the value of a network.

Maybe it’s because I am a bit of a social butterfly?  I don’t really know… all I know is that I love to connect with people. One of my gifts lies in building relationships.  I love to network with people across the country.  I love to connect people that I know with other people that I know.  This is intentional networking.  My struggle is making every relationship intentional.  By intentional I mean… purposeful.  Building relationships with people to bring them to the most important relationship anyone could ever have… one with Jesus Christ.

Don’t allow social networking to prevent you from Living for Today.  Instead use it as a tool to help you Live for Today.

As you network… I hope you build and intentional network… not just one that connects across the country… but one that connects people to Jesus.

What is your biggest struggle in building intentional relationships?

The Art of Networking

Leave a Reply

