Carried By Light


I don’t believe that my mother ever had the picture and poem entitled “Footprints in the Sand” displayed in our home… she may have.   I do know that I have seen it in a lot of homes.  Let me just say… if you have this poem displayed in your home… I’ve got respect for you.  I appreciate people that display their faith in their home.  I think it’s important to show your guest where your strength comes from.
With that said… I have always found this poem to be a tad on the “corny” side.  But corny in good solid… evangelical Christian kinda way.  You know like Facing the Giants kinda corny? (Sorry Dad… but that movie is pretty cheesy. Even if we get choked up every time that ball goes threw the uprights.)   Again… no disrespect intended… for Sherwood Pictures…for Mary Stevenson the poem’s author… or for their fans.  But please… before you write me off… let me explain.
Psalm 119:105 says, ” Your word is a lamp for my feet and a light on my path.”
I’ve stated on here a few times over the past couple of weeks that my family and I have been going through some “tough times”.  We would not have made it this far without God’s Word to light our path.  I can relate with this poem to an extent… I mean… tough times… ya.. we’ve all had tough times… we all can relate.  Defeat… anguish… trying times… we’ve all been there.  Yes… I believe God carries us in those times. But I believe God wants to carry us through those times with His Word.  I’ve experienced this recently… when we allow Him to carry us with His Word… it doesn’t shock us when we see only one set of footprints.  In stead… we look at our footprints in the sand and say… I know who’s footprints those are and they’re not mine.  Their God’s.

No matter what you’re going through… allow God to carry you through it… with His Word of Truth.  Live for today by getting in God’s Word… it will carry you to tomorrow.

What have your read in God’s Word recently that has carried you?
Please share…

Carried By Light

3 thoughts on “Carried By Light

  1. Christy says:

    “I tell you the truth, you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy…So with you: Now is your time of grief but I will see you again and you will rejoice, and no on will take away your joy.” – John 16:20,22

    Recently I’ve had an argument with my parents where I was blamed for something I didn’t do. I was called a bunch of names and it weighed pretty heavily on my heart and body that night but when I was finally left alone, I flipped open God’s Word. And when I read Jesus’ words (this verse), I wanted to fall to my knees and cry. He gave me great peace that night. The next day my Christian friend/mentor hung out with me for the day, telling me about Jesus. One of the best days I’ve had in a while. Truly, He is a consistent providing god. He knew I needed a day out of the house and to hear about Him through someone else. Those words Jesus spoke replaced the harsh ones of my parents. Coolest god ever.

  2. Susan says:

    Psalms 46:1&2 (Paraphrased by me…FOR me…because this is how I need to read them) “God is MY refuge and strength. A very present help in time of trouble. THerefore I will not fear; though the earth be removed and the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea.” …Fortuately, I haven’t read these verses recently…I haven’t needed them as much as I used to. But There was a time that I recited them a hundred times a day, nearly every day…and they worked. I love, love, love them. They helped me through some very rough and scary minutes, hours, days. And every now and again, I wil recite them to get me through a “brief” scary time… and they still work. What a great thing it is to think that God gave us these tools to get through ANYTHING that comes into our lives.

    Susan

    1. Mom says:

      Susan, u are a blessing to me and I am glad that my son can be a blessing to you.

      Another good job Adam. I am proud of you and love reading what you write.
      mom

Leave a Reply

