When Perspective Hits Home…


A few weeks ago I wrote a post and titled it “Perspective“.  That post was about the disaster in Japan.  My wife even wrote a post about it.  The pictures that we have seen… videos we have read… stories we’ve heard… have all touched our souls.  But what happens when perspective hits home?

Today is a rough day for so many of my friends.  There is a funeral at my church for a dear ol’ senior saint.  She will be greatly missed by the many lives that she impacted.

In the suburbs of Boston today there is a funeral for a man that touched many lives.  He was a Godly young father, husband, brother, son, uncle, and friend. He wasn’t even 40 years old.

In Michigan… the town I worked in for 3 years as a youth pastor… a friend of many of the students I work with was killed in a car accident just the other night.  As I read the facebook pages of many of my friends there is a lot of pain and hurt in the town of Leslie, Michigan for this young man and his family.  They are all experiencing perspective.

Death is real.  When it happens it’s permanent.  Our loved ones are gone… but the memories remain.  When death happens… perspective hits home.  No  matter how difficult life gets for me… at least I’m still alive.

The ot her night my wife said to me… things could always be worse.  She was right.  However… even in death… things can always be worse as well.  2 out of the 3 people I mentioned above… I know are in Heaven with Jesus.  But not everyone that dies… goes to heaven.  The Bible teaches that Jesus is the way the truth and the life and no one gets to God (in heaven) except through Jesus.  That is why we must tell others of this magnificent story.  The story of God’s love that gave us an opportunity to get to Him.

I realize… I have friends that disagree with me.  You know what?  I believe it is okay for them to disagree with me.  Does that mean that I stop loving them?  That I stop sharing with them?  That I stop praying for them?  Of course not.  I do my best to be Jesus to those friends.  I hope they see Him in me.  You see… when perspective hits home… we should think of Jesus… we should live like Jesus… and should share Jesus.  He cures all perspective.

Your challenge today… share Jesus.

– Adam

Note:  I refrained from numerous Rob Bell shout outs during this post… you’re welcome.

When Perspective Hits Home…

Leave a Reply

