Hey Fail Blog…. Take this!


This post goes out to a friend of mine that requested that I write up a post about this video.  He’s in the Marines.  Please pray for him as he prepares to go over seas sometime in June I believe.

Not long ago a website called Fail Blog became popular. There are some pretty funny videos and pictures on there. Fail Blog is entertaining because well… to be completely honest… it can be fun to laugh at the failures of others… especially when they take their mistakes viral.

Awhile back I had the opportunity to speak in church.  I played the video above.  It spoke volumes then…. I hope it speaks volumes now. My message was called, “Does that Pew Recline”.  Let’s face it… a lot of us find our pew comfortable and never get off of it into the world to do something for the Kingdom.  In other words… we carry our cross to the pew on Sunday but don’t take it much further than that.  The passage of my sermon that Sunday was found in Luke 9:23-26:
23And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. 24For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it. 25For what does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses or forfeits himself? 26For whoever is ashamed of me and of my words, of him will the Son of Man be ashamed when he comes in his glory and the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.

Just to be honest… I am not completely positive exactly how I tied the video into my sermon.  I believe it was because many times we are afraid to get uncomfortable.  Then I played the video to remind us that God never fails us.

For me the most powerful line in the song is “Our sin doesn’t shock You”.  To think that God isn’t shocked when we fail is a powerful thought.  So many times we are paralyzed by our failures… when God wants us to get up… dust ourselves off… and fail again.  If you’re not failing… you’re not trying.  The most comforting thing in all of this is when we fail… He cleans up the mess we make.

Don’t be afraid to fail.  Take up your cross anyway… just make sure you follow Him.

When was the last time you failed miserably?

How did God clean up the mess you made?

Hey Fail Blog…. Take this!

One thought on “Hey Fail Blog…. Take this!

  1. One of the few and the Proud says:

    great post its a scary topic to talk about as most people hate to admit they failed but this song def reminds us that no matter how bad we fail god is there. iv failed many times in life from relationships to school work to just failing to follow the correct path… its easy to get down but everyone needs to remember god is there and no matter what he will never fail you.

Leave a Reply

