Zack Morris… Marty McFly… AND 2 of my Heroes


Have you ever wished you could be like Zack Morris and freeze time?  You know… Zack Morris from Saved By the Bell?  Randomly saying… “Timeout”… and everything round him stops.  There are things in my life that I wish I could freeze.  The innocence of my children is one of them.

I know my kids will eventually “lose their innocence”.  I hope it’s not anytime soon.  In fact, just the thought of it makes me want to curl up into the fetal position and hide in a corner somewhere.  But I can’t do that.  I have to cherish those innocent moments as they come.  Someday… I will wish I could go back in time like Doc and Marty McFly in Back to the Future to “remember when…”.

At the beginning of Matthew 18 it says, “He (Jesus) called a little child to him, and placed the child among them.  And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

I think one reason why Jesus said this is because kids are so innocent.  They don’t care about perception like adults do.  They don’t care about popularity like adults do.  They don’t care about reputation like adults do. I am sure you could add to the list of things kids could care less about that we adults seem to over escalate.  All they care about is what’s in the juice box at lunch time. In Graham’s case it’s if he can where his basketball shorts under his pants today.

I challenge you… find the innocence that you had as a kid just for 10 minutes today.  Oh… it will be  difficult.  But somewhere… deep down inside… it’s there.

If you could be Zack Morris for a day…. what would you freeze?

– This post is dedicated to Anna and Graham.  My little heroes.  May your innocence never be looked down upon… may your innocence inspire those around you like it does your Daddy.

 

Zack Morris… Marty McFly… AND 2 of my Heroes

3 thoughts on “Zack Morris… Marty McFly… AND 2 of my Heroes

  1. TJBurge says:

    WHAT A POST! A well organized version of some of the same thoughts I’ve had crashing around in my head over the last few weeks. I guess it’s all about perspective…and without effort it’s easy to let life’s trials and tribulations force a less desirable perspective than we’d all like to have. Just last week I caught myself thinking about the sky as I was driving though town (and they complain about people that text and drive…sheesh) …when I was young I used to spend hours staring up at the sky and my infatuation with the it’s beauty and my imagination would run wild….I couldn’t tell you the last time I even looked at the sky other than to see if it was going to rain ( or snow??- what is this all about??). I look at a tree with leaves on it and I see a rake and blisters on my hand, I’m sure my daughter sees what I saw when I was her age – an amazing creation of nature. Adam – thanks for planting the seed that has been festering in my mind ALL day! You are the only guy I know that can use Zach Morris and Marty McFly in an inspirational way!

  2. […] I love having hip children… I really do.  I think that it comes with the territory of “Student Pastor”… if you have kids… they must be hip.  But then… I read articles like this about new music by Lady Gaga and how even she compares her music to vomit.  I think… if Lady Gaga is “hip”… my kids will be unhip.  I don’t want my kids listening to this junk.  I don’t want my kids to lose their innocence. […]

Leave a Reply

