Day Dreaming


Sometimes we just need to escape… physically… emotionally… in a day dream… or in reality.  There are times an escape can be good.  There are also times an escape can be bad.

The picture above gives me a sense of escape. Many times in life I find myself wishing that I could escape to a place like this.  The problem with this is that many times when I find myself dreaming of this escape… I find myself procrastinating.  When I procrastinate… I don’t live for today.

In 2 Timothy 4:6-8 The Apostle Paul writes to his younger friend Timothy and says:
For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time for my departure is near.  I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

I think Paul shows us here that he had hope of an escape… “my departure is near”.  But notice what Paul says… “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”

Living for today means keeping the faith even when an escape is dreamt of… even when an escape is near…. and even when an escape isn’t in sight. Please do not misunderstand me.  Having a place of escape is a good thing.  Having hope of an escape is a good thing.  It’s how you use that place of escape that really matters.  We can’t dwell there. We must live for today.

Where is your place of escape?  Do you dwell there?

Press on… and live for today.

-Adam

Day Dreaming

One thought on “Day Dreaming

  1. Debby Carter says:

    I’ve been following your blogs for a couple of weeks now and want you to know that your posts have challenged me in my walk as a believer. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

