Holy Fork in the Road, Batman!


Often times in life we are confronted with a fork in the road.  This post however is not about forks that lie in the road before us…. decisions that we must make.  Rather this post is about what we do when we are faced with a “holy fork in the road” if I can put it that way.  By “holy fork in the road” I mean when we are confronted with the Truth of God’s Word in our lives.  When this takes place there are two directions we can go… obey God… or obey our flesh (if I can use a “church word” there).

This blog cannot be a success if I am not willing to open up my life to some extent.  After all, isn’t that what blogging is all about?  I guess it depends on your purpose of blogging.  The nature of Procrastinating Tomorrow is one that is somewhat dependent on my willingness to allow others into my life. There are times when I am not able to allow you into my life…. but the times that I am…. I will.

With that said…. there are times that I read God’s Word and I say “ouch… do I really have to do that?”  I recently had one of those moments.  In that moment God’s word was direct but yet it was comforting.  The verse was James 1:12:
Blessed is a man who endures trials, because when he passes the test he will receive the crown  of life that He has promised to those who love Him.

Okay God…. I get it.  If I love you… I will endure this trial… if I endure this trial…. there is a reward.  It feels good to endure trials but the trials…. well… they suck. That is where it gets easy to put off… especially as a procrastinator.  But if we are going to live for today…. we will endure the trials before us…. today.

As the writer of Hebrews puts it in chapter 4 verse 12…. “The Word of God is living and effective….” May the Word of God be alive in us today.  May the Word of God effect the way we live….. today.

What are some excuses that you have heard or you have even used for not doing what God’s Word tells us to do?

-Adam

Holy Fork in the Road, Batman!

Leave a Reply

