The Doubt of a Youth Pastor


Today at the church that I work at we had a Madden football video game tournament for our student ministry.  I have done these in the past but it had been about 4 or 5 years since I last did one.  Usually I like to host these on the day before he Super Bowl in order to promote our Super Bowl Party the next day.  This year that didn’t work out due to Snowpocolypse 2011, so we held it today.

Scheduled time to begin registration was 10:30am.  10:30 came and we had one student show up.  Now, I knew that the basketball team was having practice and that we would have some others show up a bit later but there was no way of telling how many.

As I sat there I found myself doubting that we should’ve even scheduled a Madden Tournament. I said to myself “what a waste”.  I knew there would be others come but I doubted how many.

Now, this didn’t end up being this huge event (I think we may have ended up with 20 students showing up). But here’s the thing, of the 20 students, I bet we had 7 or 8 guests. That is 7 or 8 students that we now have the opportunity to impact for Jesus Christ.  7 or 8 students that we may have never come in contact with had we not had our Madden Tournament day.

There was a moment that I doubted everything.  But I had good leaders around me that said Adam, the boys had basketball practice, it will be okay.  They were right.  It ended up being a good event with potential for further impact.

Who do you have in your life that gives you confidence in the midst of your doubt?

What are things that cause doubt in your life?

The Doubt of a Youth Pastor

One thought on “The Doubt of a Youth Pastor

  1. Laurie Gelo says:

    Wow, that was convicting. I too have my doubts going into something even though I know it was the Lord’s leading to do it in the first place. But I am so glad that you were able to see the fruits of your labor. You never know what word they heard, what action they saw or even what seed has been planted that will change their life for eternity.

Leave a Reply

